Fifth Grade Favorites: Robots!

So I thought I was going to do one big post about things I did in the 5th grade, but I quickly found that the post would be too long. So I am going to post a series of posts instead! Welcome to the first post of Fifth Grade Favorites! 🙂

5th grade was amazing and I am so sad to be leaving it. When I first got here though, I was so scared. I have never worked with older kiddos before, the oldest I worked with was 6 year olds and now all of the sudden I was with 10 and 11 year olds!

The very first thing I got too see was the kiddos building their own robots! Crazy right? I never knew that activities such as that happened in the elementary level.

thumbnail_image1

Step One: Build a Robot following instructions.

I never got to do anything that cool (I was geeking out more than the kids during some parts, no shame over here).

The students were put into groups of two or three and they had to first build a robot with instructions. After they built the robot and it worked, they got to create their own robot. The only thing they needed to make sure the robot could do was move blocks using arms of some kind. The creativity of these kiddos was incredible! I could definitely see some of them becoming engineers some day with the work they did.

The last thing the kiddos did with their robots is compete with them! They had to move blocks from one side of a field to the other. The catch was they had to avoid the red parts on the field which would stop their robot and they would have to start over. It was so fun to watch them maneuver their robots all around the field.

 

 

Leave a Reply

